Thursday, October 23, 2025

OCTOBER 21, 2025 DEPLETING WIND

 

OCTOBER 21, 2025

DEPLETING WIND

Predictions were for wind of 8 knots decreasing to 3 knots and they were correct.  There was a chill in the air as my crew donned their coats.  The wind was coming from 220 degrees and we set a line square to this and called for course S5: S/F>Mile>S/F.  The wind lasted long enough for Fleet A to finish, but Fleet B  was stuck with a dying breeze. 

It seems that we are stuck in a repetitive scenario.  A Fleet has just enough wind to finish and B Fleet, starting 5 minutes later sails in depleting wind.  

To review the track for A Fleet:

https://www.regattahero.com/mapviewer/?organisation=scyc&passcode=233793&regatta=Tues%20Fleet%20A&race=21.10.2025%2016:55:00&language=en

Fleet B can be reviewed at:

https://www.regattahero.com/mapviewer/?organisation=scyc&passcode=233793&regatta=Tues%20Fleet%20B&race=21.10.2025%2017:00:00&language=en


Jennifer Kinsman photo of  A  Fleet start

PHRF ADJUSTED RESULTS:

PLACE                 BOAT                                   PHRF     ET                        CORRECTED

FLEET A:   COURSE S5  DISTANCE 1.929NM

1             TRUE LOVE                                      72          33:13                  30:54

2             INTERLUDE                                     141       36:06                  31:33

3             ABORIGINAL                                   33          33:40                  32:36

4             DOUBLE ESPRESSO                       99          41:45                  38:34

5             WIND II                                             213       54:51                  48:00

6             AVATAR                                             132       52:45                  48:30

FLEET B: COURSE S5  DISTANCE 1.929NM

1             ZOOP                                                  144       51:07                  46:29

2             PERFECT 36                                      144       53:00                  48:26

3             SIMPATICO                                       165       58:07                  52:48

4             NIDAROS                                          118       1:05:07              1:01:19

5             ABSOLUTE 05                                  117       1:05:37              1:01:51

6             WIND GODDESS                              163       1:11:50              1:06:35

7            TOAD                                                   150       1:19:55              1:15:05

_)                                            _)                                                  (_       (

REMEMBER THAT NEXT TUESDAY IS THE LAST TUESDAY OF THE MONTH,,, WHICH MEANS

BARBECUE POTLUCK NIGHT AT THE CLUB AFTER THE RACE.  BRING YOUR BEST GRILLING FOOD FOR THIS GREAT SOCIAL EVENT!

Next Tuesday will also be our last Tuesday NIGHT sailing for the season. Race starts at 4:55 and 5.  After next Tuesday, for the rest of the winter, races will start at 2:55 and 3.  Spinnaker boats will be starting at 2:55. 

Here is Paul Tara’s ZOOP SCOOP for this week.  It is long but a great dissertation on the conditions we sailed in and also about “barging"

 THIS WEEK

Monday at 4:30 it was clear, with a perfect 12 knot westerly at the Harbor.  But, on Tuesday a southerly surge delivered a thick layer of stratus that refused to clear.  By late afternoon the sun was still well inland, near Scotts Valley.  There was a weak unsettled south southwesterly breeze, with slightly more wind offshore.  We sailed well out on starboard prior to the start and noted hints of further backing shifts. (This is the opposite of a normal westerly, where you’re lifted on starboard as you head out.)   It clearly didn’t seem like a “go right” evening.  The A fleet appeared to agree, as they all bee-lined it offshore.

 

For the B fleet, all of this came to naught, as the wind died almost completely just prior to the start and then refilled fitfully from the right. This left us wallowing, as boats to weather sailed away, with P36 getting the best start. But, having made our bed, so to speak, we were determined to lie in it as gracefully as possible, and began to foot off to the south, below all the boats around us.  The lumpy sea and 20° shifts made steering very difficult. Gradually, more and more boats tacked away onto port, but it did not look overly inviting on the right either.  So, we banged the left corner. P36 tacked, but we held on a bit and then literally  “auto tacked” when a whopping lefty took us aback.  P36 didn't get it, and over-stood a tad, allowing us to round MB in the lead.   

 

“WORDS ARE WHAT MEN LIVE BY” 

John Wayne, as Capt. Cutter in ‘The Comancheros’ (1961).

OK, here’s a word — “Barging”—which seems to be cropping up more and more. (As far as I know, the word does not appear anywhere in the rules.) In sailing, it’s a starting technique where a boat approaches a starting mark from above a close-hauled course (reaching) and attempts to start right at the mark. Note that it is a technique, just like a port tack start or a dip start. The act of barging itself is not a foul per se, unless you get caught. Let me repeat that. The act of barging itself is not a foul per se, unless you get caught. Typically, in Santa Cruz, it’s attempted at the starboard end of the line, although it can occur at the port end. That’s because, 90 percent of the time the fleet wants to go right, but is headed left on starboard. One way to escape this is to start right at the mark to avoid being pinned on starboard by boats to weather. But, just like a port tack or dip start, it’s a risky move.  

 

In the 1930’s when Vanderbilt promulgated the first edition of the modern racing rules, all marks, including starting marks, were treated the same; an inside boat with an overlap was entitled to “room” to start.  Needless to say this encouraged no end of barging and protests, since it was in direct conflict with the basic concept that a windward boat must keep clear of a leeward boat. Consequently the rules were changed. Now, Rule 11 still requires a windward boat to keep clear of a leeward boat. But Rule 18, “Mark Room,” with all its accompanying gobbledygook about room, overlaps, and zones, does NOT apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water. So, a leeward boat may head up or ‘shut the door’ on a windward boat attempting to squeeze in (barge) between her and the mark.  She can luff, clear up until head to wind, as long as she doesn’t tack.

 

BUT, she cannot hit the windward boat or force her to hit the mark. The door must be firmly closed while the windward boat still has the option of “bailing out” or passing on the wrong side of the starting mark. If the leeward boat waits to luff until the windward boat can’t avoid becoming overlapped with the mark, it’s too late. Then, if she luffs and hits the windward boat, or forces her to hit the mark (which might be a Grand Banks), she has violated Rule 14, “Avoiding Contact”.  UNLESS, when it becomes apparent the windward boat (the barger) is not going to keep clear, the leeward boat alters course (bears away) in an attempt to provide the windward boat with room to do so. THAT, breaking Rule 11, by forcing the leeward boat to alter course, is the actual infringement involved in “barging”. 

 

So, what’s a leeward boat to do?  Alter course to keep clear, and immediately hail PROTEST. (Hailing is much easier than repairing gel coat. Or, if you’re the windward boat, so is running over a starting mark, provided it’s not a boat.) Let’s just assume, for purposes of this discussion that you also display a protest flag.

 

PROTEST” is one of only two hails required in yacht racing (the other is “ROOM TO TACK”). If you believe you have been fouled by a barging boat, you MUST immediately hail “PROTEST” at the offending boat. We’re talking seconds, not minutes; and there’s good reason.  Other phrases, such as “no room,” “leeward,” “don’t go in there,”“you’re barging,” can all serve as warnings, but “PROTEST” is all that’s required. It’s important. Because, under the rules, it’s the ONLY hail that can serve to put the windward boat on notice that she’s fouled.  By not hailing “PROTEST” the leeward boat has not only denied herself an advantage in the race (by obligating the offender to exonerate herself), she’s denied that boat the opportunity of doing so at the earliest opportunity. That’s why it’s important to hail immediately.

  

As a case in point, at a recent Fall SCORE start, we found ourselves barging.  The boat to leeward shut the door early, but we had too much way on to clear the transom of the RC boat. The leeward boat clearly hailed, “Zoop, you are barging”. She then bore away for her start, just before we went across the line two or three seconds OCS. It was a perfect maneuver. EXCEPT. People aboard the RC boat heard the hail, and thought, “Wrong word.”  Aboard Zoop, I thought, “Yep, we sure are, but . . . did we foul? Did you alter course to avoid us? Or, to avoid being OCS yourselves?” Remember, the act of barging itself is NOT a foul. It only becomes a foul if the leeward boat has to alter course to avoid the windward boat. As we circled to dip and restart, I asked the crew if anyone had heard the word PROTEST. No one had.  So, I concluded the leeward boat must have borne away (altered course) to avoid being OCS herself, rather than avoid contact. We restarted without doing a circle, had a good race, caught up, and finished one second ahead of the leeward boat.  One word was all that was required to cause us to take a penalty turn.

Now, how about a hypothetical. What would have happened if we hadn’t been OCS, had kept sailing, and at some subsequent point in the race, say half-way up the beat, they had hailed PROTEST. Sorry boys, non-timely notification. See you in the room. Promptly hailing, doesn’t oblige you to actually file a protest or go to a hearing. But to not promptly hail is to possibly deny yourself an advantage in the race and, more importantly, deny the offending boat the opportunity to exonerate herself.  

 

Of course all this depends on the honor system. If you know you’ve fouled, you are obliged to take a penalty turn.  But, in many circumstances, when it’s a close call (“barging” is numero uno) the system depends on the boat that has been fouled to properly inform the offending party. Conversely, you are honor bound to not sail around frivolously hailing PROTEST at every boat that comes within a boat length. 

 

“You have not won, if you have lost the respect of your competitors,” was Paul Elvstrøm’s motto.  I’m pretty sure Elvstrøm and John Wayne never met, but if they had, I think they would have agreed.

 

Thank you Paul.

I hope to see you on the water and at the club after the race next Tuesday.

Barry Keeler

Sailing Pair A Dice

 

No comments:

Post a Comment